

# International Sustainable Development Research Society Conference

### LAST NAME / FIRST NAME

DATE 13 - 15 July 2016



DESTINATION Lisbon, Portugal

VENUE Universidade Nova de Lisboa Campus de Campolide





Rethinking Sustainability Models and Practices: New and Old World Contexts

ISDRS 2016 | Lisbon

### Important deadlines

## Rethinking Sustainability Models and Practices: New and Old World Contexts

Abstract submission open: 15 OCTOBER 2015

Deadline for abstract submission: 15 DECEMBER 2015

Notification of successful abstracts: 1 FEBRUARY 2016

Deadline for early bird registration: 31 MARCH 2016

> Deadline for proceedings: 15 APRIL 2016

> > Conference:

The international SD research community is faced with the challenging sustainability threats and opportunities for emerging and fast changing economies and societies (*New World*). At the same time, it carries the accumulated knowledge about the models and results of countries with relevant past experiences in dealing with sustainability issues in more stable contexts (*Old World*). The major theme will focus the current sustainability strategies, policies, practices and approaches and the need to rethink their roles and applicability in different socio-cultural and economic contexts.

#### **Keynote Speakers:**

Lan Xue Professor in Tsinghua University, Co-Chair of the Executive Committee of the Sustainable Development Solutions Network Hans Bruyninckx Executive Director of the European Environment Agency Philip M. Fearnside Professor in Department of Environmental Dynamics, National Institute for Research in Amazonia Catarina de Albuquerque Executive chair of Sanitation and Water for All Paula Antunes Professor in Faculty of Science and Technology, Universidade NOVA de Lisboa Viriato Soromenho-Marques Professor in Departments of Philosophy and European Studies, University of Lisbon

Pre-conference event: Luso-Brazilian Symposium on Sustainability Models and Practices

E-mail: ISDRS2016@campus.fct.unl.pt Conference website: http://www.isdrsconference.org



FCCL ENCAGE FEFCULOBRA METEROLOGICAL METEROLOGICA

**Organizing Committee:** Tomás B. Ramos (Chair), Rui F. Santos (Co-chair), Sandra Caeiro (Co-chair), Paula Antunes, Nuno Videira, J. Joanaz de Melo, José Carlos Ferreira, Antje Disterheft, André Mascarenhas, Alexandra Polido, Ana Rita Domingues, Inês Cosme, Patrícia Ferreira, Rosa Santos Coelho, Nuno Martins